Home URBAN The Original 7 (formerly The Time) Open Soul Train Awards and…

The Original 7 (formerly The Time) Open Soul Train Awards and…



The third annual   TRAIN  readies an extraordinary show for this year’s presentation, taping  on  Thursday, November 17  at the Fox Theatre in  Atlanta, GA.  Hosted by the original king of comedy,  Cedric “The Entertainer”,  the 2011  SOUL TRAIN AWARDS  will premiere on both  CENTRIC  and  BET  onSunday, November 27 at 9:00 *.    Legendary group  The Original 7Ven, The Group Formerly Known As  The Time  will open the show with an explosive performance, followed by multi-Grammy Award winning songstress  Natalie Cole, Jill Scott, , Robin Thicke, Lloyd, Miguel, Melanie Fiona, Keith Sweat, , , Lalah Hathaway, .  They will all light up the stage with performances and first-ever collaborations to honor this year’s Legend Award recipients  , Wind and Fire  and .

(Logo:  http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20070716/BETNETWORKSLOGO  )

The  SOUL TRAIN AWARDS  will acknowledge the achievements of today’s most famed entertainers in 11 categories.  R&B superstar    is leading the pack with five nominations across multiple categories.  Chris  Brown’snominations include Best Male R&B/Soul Artist, Song of the Year, Album of the Year, Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year and Best Dance Performance.  International sensation  Beyonce  receives nominations in the Album of the Year, Record of the Year, Best Female R&B/Soul Artist and Best Dance Performance categories.    is tied with  Beyonce  with four nominations in three categories (Best Hip Hop Song of the Year, Album of the Year and Song of the Year) and is followed by three nominations for artists  Kelly  Rowland, Adele, Marsha Ambrosius,  and  Miguel.

The  SOUL TRAIN AWARDS  is a presentation of Centric and Sunseeker Media and directed by Manny Rodriguez. Paxton Baker, Tami Willis-Arasli, Derek Lewis, Centric; Bart Phillips, Sunseeker Media; and Soul Train Holdings’ Kenard Gibbs will all be the executive producers of the network telecast, along with Cedric Kyles and Eric Rhone. The  SOUL TRAIN AWARDS  is produced in cooperation with the City of  Atlanta  led by Mayor Kasim Reed and Stacii Jae Johnson, Special Events Director for the Office of the Mayor.

For more information, please visit  www.centrictv.com.

*All times ET/PT


Centric is a 24-hour music and entertainment channel that reflects the lifestyle and sophistication of today’s African-American and multicultural adult viewer.  With a finger on the pulse of an ever-changing beat, its compelling music content fuses Soul, R&B, Neo-Soul, Hip Hop, Reggae, Gospel, Jazz, Old School,  New School  and everything in between with today’s hottest artists. It is a unique of mix of music, culture and lifestyle programming that embodies the lives, tastes and aspirations of the CENTRIC viewer: All you. All day. All night.

About BET Networks

BET Networks, a subsidiary of Viacom Inc. (NYSE: VIA, VIA.B), is the nation’s leading provider of quality entertainment, music, news and public affairs television programming for the African-American audience. The primary BET channel reaches more than 90 million households and can be seen in the United States,  Canada,  the Caribbean, the  United Kingdom  and sub-Saharan  Africa. BET is the dominant African-American consumer brand with a diverse group of business extensions:  BET.com, a leading Internet destination for Black entertainment, music, culture, and news; CENTRIC, a 24-hour entertainment network targeting the 25- to 54-year-old African-American audience; BET Digital Networks – BET Gospel and BET Hip Hop, attractive alternatives for cutting-edge entertainment tastes; BET Home Entertainment, a collection of BET-branded offerings for the home environment including DVDs and video-on-demand; BET Event Productions, a full-scale event management and production company with festivals and live events spanning the globe; BET Mobile, which provides ringtones, games and video content for wireless devices; and BET International, which operates BET in the United Kingdom and oversees the extension of BET network programming for global distribution.

About Soul Train Holdings

Soul Train is a registered trademark of Soul Train Holdings, LLC, a limited liability company headquartered in  Los Angeles, CA. Soul Train is the longest running, first-run, nationally syndicated program in television history.  During its 37 year run, the show featured such staples as the Soul Train line and performers as important and diverse as: Al Green, Ike & Tina Turner, Marvin Gaye, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Elton John, Whitney  Houston, David  Bowie, Janet Jackson and Beyonce, to name a few.  Soul Train Holdings was created following the acquisition of the iconic franchise and catalog of more than 1,100 hours of archival footage from Don Cornelius Productions in  June 2008  by InterMedia Partners and Madvision entertainment and is part of Vibe Holdings LLC. Vibe Holdings is a leading multi-cultural media company consisting of treasured and celebrated brands including Vibe Magazine,  Vibe.com,  Uptown  Magazine and Soul Train.  VIBE Holdings is owned by InterMedia Partners, Magic Johnson Enterprises and Ron Burkle’s  Yucaipa  Companies.



Best New ArtistBest Male R&B/Soul Artist
Bruno MarsTrey Songz
Marsha AmbrosiusChris Brown
MiguelR. Kelly
Frank OceanMiguel
Cee  Lo Green
Eric Benet
Centric Award
LedisiBest  Caribbean  Performance
Raphael SaddiqMan Down-Rihanna
BilalSummer Time-Vybz Kartel
Anthony DavidWotless-Kes The Band
Aloe BlaccBend Over-Machel Montano
Best Gospel Performance
I Smile-Kirk  FranklinAlbum of the Year
Walking-Mary Mary21-Adele
Heaven Hear My Heart-Trin-I-Tee 5:7F.A.M.E.-  Chris Brown
I Believe-James Fortune feat. Shawn McLemore4-Beyonce
More-Cece WinansPassion Pain & Pleasure-Trey Songz
Light of the Sun-Jill Scott
Best Hip-Hop Song of the YearWatch The Throne-Jay Z/Kanye West
Moment for Life-Nicki Minaj
All of the Lights-Kanye West
Look at Me Now-Chris Brown feat. Busta Rhymes and Lil’ Wayne
Out of My Head-Lupe Fiasco
Otis-Jay Z/Kanye West
Best Female R&B/Soul ArtistSong of the Year
Kelly RowlandMotivation-Kelly Rowland feat. Lil’ Wayne
BeyonceSure Thing-Miguel
Marsha AmbrosiusRolling in the Deep-Adele
Jennifer  HudsonShe Ain’t You-Chris Brown
Jill ScottAll of the Lights-  Kanye West
Mary J. BligeSo In Love-Jill Scott feat. Anthony  Hamilton
Record of the Year (The  Ashford  & Simpson Songwriter’s Award)
Rolling in the Deep-Adele (Writers: Adele, Paul Epworth)
Far Away-Marsha Ambrosius (Writers: Marsha Ambrosius, Sterling Simms)
Best Thing I Never Had-Beyonce (Writers: Antonio Dixon; Kenneth Edmonds; Larry Griffin, Jr.; Beyonce Knowles; Caleb McCampbell; Patrick Smith; Shea Taylor)
Good Man-Raphael Saddiq (Writers: Raphael Saadiq, Taura Stinson)
Hold My Hand (Duet with Akon)-Michael Jackson (Writers: Aliaune Thiam (Akon), Giorgio Tuinfort, Claude Kelly)
Best Dance Performance
Motivation-Kelly Rowland
Only Girl in the World//What’s My Name-Rihanna
Run The World-Beyonce
She Ain’t You-Chris Brown
Walking-Mary Mary
Pretty Girl Rock-Keri Hilson

Comments are closed.