Home Music Industry News McDonald’s 365Black Awards set to premiere on BET Networks

McDonald’s 365Black Awards set to premiere on BET Networks

Legendary R&B songstress Toni Braxton accepts a Lifetime Achievement McDonald's 365Black Award for her commitment to giving back to the community. Other honorees include football cornerback Charles "Peanut" Tillman; award-winning actress Wendy Raquel Robinson; and educator and historian Lonnie Bunch, among others. The awards are presented annually to salute outstanding achievements of those who are committed to making positive contributions that strengthen the African-American community. McDonald's 365Black Awards show will premiere September 1 on BET Networks at 9pm EST. (PRNewsFoto/McDonald's USA)
Legendary R&B songstress accepts a Lifetime Achievement McDonald’s 365Black Award for her commitment to giving back to the community. Other honorees include football cornerback Charles “Peanut” Tillman; award-winning actress Wendy Raquel Robinson; and educator and historian Lonnie Bunch, among others. The awards are presented annually to salute outstanding achievements of those who are committed to making positive contributions that strengthen the African-American community. McDonald’s 365Black Awards show will premiere September 1 on Networks at 9pm EST. (PRNewsFoto/McDonald’s USA)

McDonald’s USA will televise its 13th annual 365Black Awards ceremony for the fourth consecutive year on the national cable television network Black Entertainment Television® (BET®). Hosted by actor/photographer alongside actress/singer Amber P. Riley, the program will initially air Thursday, September 1 at 9:00 p.m. EST/8:00 p.m. CST. Those who miss the first airing can catch it again the following Sunday, September 4 at 10:30 a.m. EST/9:30 a.m. CST on BET and on CENTRIC-TV on September 11 at 11:00 p.m. EST/10:00 p.m. CST and again on September 12 at 10:00 a.m. EST/9:00 a.m. CST.

Held in conjunction with ™ presented by Coca-Cola®, the show boasts stellar performances from R&B singer Kelly Price and The Braxton Sisters, who stole the show during their tribute to Lifetime Achievement honoree, Toni Braxton. The two were joined alongside recording artists Kenny Lattimore, V. Bozeman and Eric Benet in honor of Toni. Anthony Hamilton and The Hamiltones, Chrisette Michele, Ro James and Canton Jones led other crowd-moving performances at the awards.

“I’ve worked with the brand several times over the last few years. I was honored to host the McDonald’s 365Black Awards for the first year alongside Amber,” said Lance. “It’s extremely satisfying to be a part of something that lifts our people up.”

The awards are presented annually to salute outstanding achievements of those who are committed to making positive contributions that strengthen the African-American community. This year’s honorees include: Grammy Award-winning artist Toni Braxton; football cornerback Charles “Peanut” Tillman; award-winning actress Wendy Raquel Robinson; educator and historian Lonnie Bunch; and McDonald’s owner/operator Larry Tripplett. Additionally, teen philanthropist Lauren Seroyer and teen social-entrepreneur Donovan Smith were recognized alongside this lineup with the third McDonald’s 365Black Community Choice Youth Award, facilitated by Thurgood Marshall College Fund.

“We’re excited to team up with BET Networks again to broadcast McDonald’s annual 365Black Awards,” said William Rhodes, McDonald’s U.S. marketing director. “McDonald’s is committed every day to being deeply rooted in your community and it’s a great feeling to connect with another media entity that seeks to uplift our community as well.”

Be sure to follow @365Black on Twitter for commentary on the awards and use the hashtag #365BlackAwards.