Home Music D’Angelo’s Neo-Soul Masterpiece, ‘Brown Sugar,’ Remastered and Expanded for New Deluxe Edition

D’Angelo’s Neo-Soul Masterpiece, ‘Brown Sugar,’ Remastered and Expanded for New Deluxe Edition

D’Angelo’s platinum-certified debut, 1995’s neo-soul masterpiece Brown Sugar, is newly remastered and expanded for a 2CD and digital Deluxe Edition to be released August 25 by Virgin/UMe. Remastered by GRAMMY®-winning engineer Russell Elevado, Brown Sugar’s Deluxe Edition adds 21 rare tracks, including remixes by CJ Mackintosh, Dallas Austin, King Tech, Erick Sermon and Incognito, as well as instrumentals and a cappella versions. Of the 21 newly added tracks, 15 were previously available only on vinyl and seven will make their commercial release debuts on the new edition.

Brown Sugar’s 2CD Deluxe Edition is presented in a digipak with a 20-page booklet featuring an essay by noted author and filmmaker , rare photographs, and lyrics for the album’s 10 original tracks. Preorder Brown Sugar (Deluxe Edition) here: https://UMe.lnk.to/BrownSugarDeluxePR

Released July 4, 1995, D’Angelo’s Brown Sugar album heralded a new direction for soul music, bridging tradition and innovation. D’Angelo, then 21 years old, wrote, arranged, performed and produced most of the album himself, inspired by classic jazz, gospel, soul, and hip-hop and using a mix of vintage and new equipment to realize his creative vision.

In the Deluxe Edition booklet, D’Angelo’s Brown Sugar co-producer Bob Power writes: “D was one of those artists that came not just fully formed, but truly genre-bending; genre-creating is really more like it.”

D’Angelo’s Brown Sugar collaborators also included A Tribe Called Quest’s Ali Shaheed Muhammad for the title track and Raphael Saadiq for “Lady.” The first album to be dubbed “neo-soul,” Brown Sugar spent 65 weeks on the Billboard 200 albums chart and drew praise from music critics around the world. In his four-star album review for Rolling Stone, wrote, “Brown Sugar is a reminder of where R&B has been and, if the genre is to resurrect its creative relevance like a phoenix rising from the ashes, where it needs to go.”

“Young D’Angelo was duly anointed the new musical messiah, charged with leading the culture into a new promised land,” writes Nelson George in his Deluxe Edition essay.

Brown Sugar received four GRAMMY Award® nominations. The groundbreaking album is featured in Mojo’s list of 100 Modern Classics and in Rolling Stone’s Essential Recordings of the ’90s.


D’Angelo: Brown Sugar (Deluxe Edition) [2CD, digital]

CD 1 (Remastered album, plus bonus tracks)
1. Brown Sugar
2. Alright
3. Jonz In My Bonz
4. Me And Those Dreamin’ Eyes Of Mine
5. Sh*t, Damn, Motherf*cker
6. Smooth
7. Cruisin’
8. When We Get By
9. Lady
10. Higher
Bonus Tracks
11. Brown Sugar A Cappella (released on 12″ single)
12. Me And Those Dreamin’ Eyes Of Mine A Cappella (released on 12″ single)
13. Brown Sugar Instrumental (released on 12″ single)
14. Lady Just Tha Beat Mix Instrumental w/Chorus (Mixed by ; released on CD Maxi-Single)
15. Brown Sugar Alternate Version (released on 12″ single)

Pages: 1 | 2 | Single Page

Motivational Podcast by RFFocus.org CEO Kevin Ross - More Episodes HERE

Morning Radio Host, professional interview correspondent/host, multi-media journalist, and talent liaison.

Leave a Reply